Pinay HERstories

A series of ongoing art projects by GABRIELA-USA (babaeSF, FiRE NYC, & Pinay sa Seattle)

Untitled #2 by Valerie Francisco November 15, 2008

Filed under: SF entries — h! @ 7:07 pm

the humidity has a tendency to cling to my clothing.

terse.

abrupt.

unforgiving.

i don’t mind it. i haven’t sweated like this for years.

naninibago talaga ako.

i’m finding that my tongue is such a nuisance.

slow.

cumbersome.

i can’t get the english words in my head out in a coherent tagalog manner. forcing me to butcher my language and infuse it with tagalog-ified english words like, “nagwowork” or “making habol”. it gives me away.

well, everything really gives me away. i think its my swagger. or even my tendency to smile at people. it just makes them uncomfortable. of course, the fact that i’m six billion sizes bigger than most men, women, children, and roosters here, also might be a factor that says “AMERICAN”.

i’ve changed.

home has changed.

well somewhat. not for the better or anything.

i walked around today in my aunt’s neighborhood. i remem

 

Leave a comment